Mediasonic MLG-7017CVR Car Dash Cam Reviews

1
Mediasonic MLG-7017CVR Car Dash Cam – Camcorders
6.5 Total Score
  • Good bang for the buck

Mediasonic MLG-7017CVR Car Dash Cam Reviews Contributed by Users

So the one time I needed the thing to record…it didn’t. What a piece of steaming deer poop. Not to mention the deer took off and probably died a short while later, so I didn’t get the meat. Plus my insurance idiots wrote the car off due to $16000. damage to a $30000. car.

6.5 Total Score
How Good?

Good bang for the buck

6Editor's score
Individual Rating
6
7.5User's score
Individual Rating
7.5
PROS
  • Good bang for the buck
CONS
  • A little weird looking
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments

Users who found this page were searching for:

11 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Karl Miranda January 8, 2017 at 2:07 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    This dashcam is a good basic camera for recording the typical commute. Not sure if the footage captured by this camera can be legally admissible to the insurance adjusters, but it’s better than nothing. Sadly this camera doesn’t do true 720p as advertised.

    + PROS: Accepts SD Cards, Uses any inexpensive Nokia cell battery that will fit with the device
    - CONS: Doesn't do true 720p, Real recording resolution's about 640x480, Motion detection DSP doesn't accurately discern motion and no motion during night time
  2. Reply
    Harvey Rush January 14, 2017 at 7:30 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Good bang for the buck

    + PROS: Good bang for the buck
    - CONS: A little weird looking
  3. Reply
    Fabian Obrien January 14, 2017 at 1:23 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Easy, simple, no much advantage, nothing really special. Muti langauge, I like that, power cable too long.

    + PROS: nothing really special on this one, night visual and multi language maybe.
    - CONS: regualr quality, sound is not clear.
  4. Reply
    Sebastien Dunlap January 30, 2017 at 4:22 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    It’s going back, you get what you pay for. But bought in the right place, you get your money back, even 10 months later. No the 6 or 7 times I went to review an incident I was VERY disappointed in the quality. Honestly could not tell if it was a woman pulling a U-turn in front of me via the video.

    + PROS: This is actually a 1 star item. I like that the cord is long, I use it in several vehicles a day. Looks good. Actually did catch a punk using the motion detection at night, but right at the hood of my truck. Plate number of the punks vehicle could not be read.
    - CONS: Everything except above. Cord came apart at the cig. lighter end. Plug it self is temperamental, works most of the time, sometimes have to twist it in the plug to get it working. Video is crap, night or day.
  5. Reply
    William Jacobs February 14, 2017 at 2:38 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    great deal for the price.good video quality.easy to install.

    + PROS: decent build quality
    - CONS: none so far
  6. Reply
    Odette Allen May 25, 2017 at 5:31 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    Pretty easy to install physically and the power cable is plenty long. The menu and setup is somewhat confusing at first, but it’s not terrible. The biggest disappointment and even misrepresentation in advertising is the camera resolution. It is ONLY 640×480, or VGA.

    + PROS: somewhat cheap, somewhat wide, 120deg, angle lens
    - CONS: not HD, actually VGA 640x480, camera screws in, instead of a quick release, somewhat bulky
  7. Reply
    Sayuri Hurst June 5, 2017 at 10:54 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    I knew when I bought this the native resolution was VGA and anything higher is software enhanced. I only planned on using VGA anyway and it works. Playback is smooth once you upload the files into your computer.

    + PROS: - easy to install, - good length for power cable so you can manage it through the car seams, - good quality VGA, - automatically turns on/off when engine starts/ends, - IR works pretty well
    - CONS: - slow reading/playing the SD card off the device
  8. Reply
    Alex Copeland June 10, 2017 at 8:00 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    It is probably the best deal for the similar product in current market. Video files pick up lots of space but could not provide decent quality video in both Day and Night mode. This review was modfied by poster @ 02-13-13 11:16 AM

    + PROS: Easy to install, Auto Power On/Off, Competitive Price
    - CONS: Picture Quality much lower than expected (720)not even 480
  9. Reply
    Erin Landry August 27, 2017 at 3:41 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    So the one time I needed the thing to record…it didn’t. What a piece of steaming deer poop. Not to mention the deer took off and probably died a short while later, so I didn’t get the meat. Plus my insurance idiots wrote the car off due to $16000. damage to a $30000. car.

    + PROS: I liked that it had the night vision, and that it had sound. The price was middle of the road .
    - CONS: What's not good? Everything. I bought it on sale for forty bux. Regular price was around eighty . That is a mid level unit, or so I thought., I put a 32gig card in it and basically for got about it. I had no idea that it didn't record non stop.
  10. Reply
    Barry Horne September 20, 2017 at 5:25 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    During day in perfect sunlight this camera won’t be able to pick up the license plate of the car 10 ft in front of you. If you’re concerned about having video evidence pay the extra cash and get something that’s not junk.

    + PROS: -can preview videos on built-in screen, -long power cable
    - CONS: -Falsely advertised as HD, only 640x480, -bulky, -narrow lense
  11. Reply
    Ayumi Little September 23, 2017 at 4:43 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    je recommande

    + PROS: bon produit

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Register New Account
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0