Sony HDR-CX200 Reviews

88
Sony HDR-CX200 – Camcorders

Sony HDR-CX200 Reviews Contributed by Users

I sold digital cameras and camcorders in the early 2000’s and I’ve always considered Sony to be one of the top makers of consumer grade equipment and I still do. Just don’t expect good photos because they’re not.

7 Total Score
How Good?

Took this camera to Asia on a trip and found that it worked perfect and provided the necessary video quality. Probably won't be liked if you are a hard core video nut.

6Editor's score
Individual Rating
6
8User's score
Individual Rating
8
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
30 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Nadine Mccall January 20, 2017 at 12:58 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    I love this handycamcorder. I bought this video camera in 2012 and have been very happy with it. I like the features of the camera and especially the ‘HIGHLIGHTS’ capability. Thats an easy compulation of shots to share.

  2. Reply
    Odette Cervantes January 29, 2017 at 9:16 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    Easy to use, high quality, does exactly what you expect it to do. The only downside is the manual shutter but it’s a minor complaint really.

  3. Reply
    Nate Petersen February 13, 2017 at 10:16 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    No me gusta SONY. No digo más. SONY ningún apoyo. No comprar Sony. No comprar Sony. No hay garantía. No hay respuesta. I hate SONY. I don’t say more. SONY no support. No buy SONY. No buy SONY. No guarantee. No answer.

  4. Reply
    Cristobal Spencer February 14, 2017 at 10:05 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    I love this little camcorder. I’ve recorded my nephews and nieces at their sporting events and a lot of hours of mountains, Clouds, Lightning & even tornados. Great Buy

  5. Reply
    Jerry Hendricks February 16, 2017 at 7:38 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Considering this cost me less than $200, I think it’s a great camera. I positioned it about 15 feet away from my subject in a box of a room with horrible acoustics and the audio turned out fine, even though it doesn’t have an external mic mount.

  6. Reply
    Arlene Cruz February 28, 2017 at 4:16 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    For the money it was great, but since I lost it 5 weeks after I bought it, I have not replaced it. That should tell you something.

  7. Reply
    Gustav Higgins March 27, 2017 at 8:33 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    this replaced a jvc that i did not think was good enough. the jvc was a lot cheaper and i thought that spending more money would get me better quality but for 200-300 price range you only get ok not great. one thing I can say is outside videos are much better than indoor. the more light the better.

  8. Reply
    Karl Munoz April 10, 2017 at 3:52 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    i love this video camera it does what i want and it also small and handy.i like the quality of this one the picture are good and clear so if you are looking for a affordable camera this is the one.

  9. Reply
    Alex Burris May 9, 2017 at 10:59 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    I sold digital cameras and camcorders in the early 2000’s and I’ve always considered Sony to be one of the top makers of consumer grade equipment and I still do. Just don’t expect good photos because they’re not.

    + PROS: Camera is crazy light; it weighs almost nothing. I love the built-in usb and provided HDMI cable. Menu is intuitive and screen is bright. Built in lens cover and good zoom. As typical, Sony's focus is quick and works at 0 distance (meaning you can focus perfectly on tiny bugs on the ground or in...
    - CONS: It's disappointing that they didn't have nightshot on these like their old camcorders, but cest la vie. What I was far more upset about is the surprisingly low picture quality. I never expected much of old camcorders, but this one is HDR.
  10. Reply
    Kazuko Reid May 10, 2017 at 1:02 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    Exactly what I wanted. he battery seemed to go out a little early so I’ll need to get another battery for sure. But the camera is perfect for my needs.

  11. Reply
    Alex Small May 23, 2017 at 7:42 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    I love this camera. Use this for most of my YouTube videos on my YouTube channel, Not2NerdyEnt. Check it out !

  12. Reply
    Virginie Roman May 27, 2017 at 4:42 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    Does what it says it would do. Very compact, easy to use and and just works. Very light weight as well. Great product.

  13. Reply
    Odette Russo May 27, 2017 at 8:35 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    I’ve loving this video camera. It’s got some great features, but I can also put it in manual mode and take care of all the little things like white balance myself. I like that, and as someone who worked cameras for local news broadcasts, the amount of manual control you can get out of this little…

  14. Reply
    Lili Mcbride May 28, 2017 at 6:41 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    I have an older handy cam which was non-high-definition and although it took really good movies I always had difficulty when I did my daughter’s recitals however with this new one the picture is way sharper and you don’t get so much of those blurred or jumpy images when people are moving I gave my…

  15. Reply
    Leslie Osborne June 2, 2017 at 3:54 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    I have used this camcorder regularly for the last 2 months and I haven’t had any problems. Image quality is great for home video and looks great on a big HD TV. And I love the that the USB cable is attached to the camera and you don’t have to search for it every time you want to download a video!

  16. Reply
    Alberto Perry June 9, 2017 at 9:03 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    The camera arrived severely damaged in two places. Impossible to miss this damage. The box of the camera was obviously opened (tape seal removed). This was not a new item. Returned.

  17. Reply
    Henri Jackson June 13, 2017 at 7:45 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    Am so glad I bought this, my other camera died, : ( This is a much better replacement, has all the bells and whistles I wanted. Didn’t realize it had a touch screen when I ordered it, a surprise plus!

  18. Reply
    Akane Paul June 25, 2017 at 9:36 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    my wife and i love this camera, its perfect for our need. This is well worth the money, the video quality is amazing and so light to carry.

  19. Reply
    William Abbott July 20, 2017 at 2:26 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    I just adopted two kids and I have been having a great time with my cam corder. It works great, it is easy to charge and it takes pictures too.

  20. Reply
    Wilfred Acosta July 25, 2017 at 6:45 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Took this camera to Asia on a trip and found that it worked perfect and provided the necessary video quality. Probably won’t be liked if you are a hard core video nut.

  21. Reply
    Allison Montgomery August 2, 2017 at 12:57 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    It works great, fast charge, lcd display shows battery level, can replay right there, charges fast…Easy enough for my 10 year old son to use, hooks right up to pc for youtube etc.. get this camera if you are looking for a cheap efficiant recording device in HD..

  22. Reply
    Otto Riddle September 3, 2017 at 8:48 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    Takes phenomenal video, very easy to use. Great camera for the price. The Play Memories Home software that you download to your computer is also very easy to use.

  23. Reply
    Junko Snyder September 8, 2017 at 3:32 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    I’ve never owned a camcorder before, and I’ve found this very difficult to learn to use. I like the small size of this device, but the image quality isn’t what I hoped for, even though I have set it at HD. Worst, though, is that the supplied user manual is a garbled mess.

  24. Reply
    Bill Horton September 9, 2017 at 12:42 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    Love the size of this camera. Easy to use. Love the touch screen. Now wish I had gone for the one with the projector but it was too much to spend right now.

  25. Reply
    Chiaki Hammond September 17, 2017 at 4:01 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    I hate technology but was motivated to get one of these, which I did, after much research and comparison shopping. Love it. Very easy to use, even for me. Very easy to transfer videos to my computer. I like everything about it.

  26. Reply
    Claudette Miles September 20, 2017 at 9:05 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    If you are looking for a terrific camera for uploading to the internet or watching on a computer, this is perfect. The volume, picture, zoom and lighting is perfect. Couldn’t have asked for a better camera .

  27. Reply
    Reina Solis September 20, 2017 at 10:57 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    I’ve had this model for about 6 months now, so I’ve used it enough to give an informed opinion by this point. I bought this only to capture memories of our kids growing up. I did not buy this for extensive or special editing, special effects, etc.

  28. Reply
    Tammy Dejesus September 25, 2017 at 10:01 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    Old SOny 8mm video camera still works—but it was getting to be a hassle to find the 8mm tapes! We switched to the Sony HDR-CX190 and can now just bring one tiny camera bag to shoot photos AND digital videos! So glad we finally upgraded.

  29. Reply
    Marco Burton October 1, 2017 at 1:03 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    I was very disapointed because i already use it and noticed that it hasn’t nightshot capabilities… I think its a basic function.

  30. Reply
    Lisa Oliver October 5, 2017 at 3:16 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    It is small in size but big in features. I need to probe more functions but until now it’s ok

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Register New Account
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0