Makita HP2050 / HP2050F Reviews

32
Makita HP2050 / HP2050F – Drills

Makita HP2050 / HP2050F Reviews Contributed by Users

This is a great hammer drill for everyday purposes. It has good power and nice features, such as the L.E.D. light. I thought the light was a gimmick at first, but when it was late afternoon and I find myself inside a building with no lights, the light was great.

6.5 Total Score
How Good?

This was a present for a friend of mine and today he is happy using it.

6Editor's score
General Score
6
7.5User's score
Individual Rating
7.5
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
30 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Charley Klein January 5, 2017 at 2:21 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    Pulled out of the box and immediately drilled holes in brick for an electrical service entrance consisting of a meter base, two disconnects, and a generator transfer switch. The drill performed great sinking holes in the hard brick in record time.

  2. Reply
    Rafael Lambert January 20, 2017 at 11:11 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    I grew frustrated with the lack of power of my cordless drills to bore holes through 2×4’s in our basement project. This drill makes short work of most holes, but almost twisted my arm off when it got caught up once.

  3. Reply
    Patty England February 8, 2017 at 12:25 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    I liked it alot until it just quit hammering.I am trying to get a building up before winter.This breakdown does not help.

  4. Reply
    Chantal Carroll February 15, 2017 at 11:52 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    The drill is a workhorse. I drilled into concrete with this thing for hours at a time and it never flinched. I do have the problem with the chuck that others have mentioned. The chuck is in fact too small and thus wears out and eventually slips.

  5. Reply
    Fabian Hester February 20, 2017 at 12:09 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    It overpassed my expectations

  6. Reply
    Wilma Underwood March 1, 2017 at 4:45 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    Used this drill to mount my Gun Safe to the concrete slab in the house. Used Dewalt Rock Carbide bit to drill through both the metal of the safe as well as the laminate and then concrete floor. I put on my 1″ drill bit and dilled the concrete to a depth of about 3 inches.

  7. Reply
    Kate Jackson March 16, 2017 at 1:47 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    This hammer drill did the job i bought it for, but I did have to keep putting the bit back in. The chuck would not stay tight when in use.

  8. Reply
    Nanaho Osborne March 31, 2017 at 12:37 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Bought this drill mainly to do cabinet installations requiring drilling pilot holes for concrete screws here are my pros and cons about this product: Pros: Nice price (remember tho you often get what u pay for) Nice case with lots of room for extra bits.

  9. Reply
    Kyle Daniel March 31, 2017 at 2:41 am
    Individual Rating
    80

    Beautifully built, ready to go. This home do-it-yourselfer is very pleased with this drill: eats up anything I can throw at it.

  10. Reply
    Isabel Rivas April 8, 2017 at 10:59 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    This was a present for a friend of mine and today he is happy using it.

  11. Reply
    Alberto Savage April 9, 2017 at 1:43 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    The drill is great. I bought the drill as a replacement for a burned out Dewalt hammer drill and used it as soon as I received it. Since i had a few other Makita poducts and was confident about the quality of their tools, I didn’t hesitate to buy this drill. Very happy with its performance.

  12. Reply
    Miyuki Harper April 12, 2017 at 3:55 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    It says 3/4 inch hammer drill. Only has half inch chuck. Called makita and they said yes its a 3/4 hammer drill because it will drill a 3/4 inch hole. False advertisement if you ask me. Other drills I went back and looked at that say 3/4 hammer drill have 3/4 chucks. I’m upset with my purchase

  13. Reply
    Michiyo Stafford April 13, 2017 at 9:17 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    This is a great hammer drill for everyday purposes. It has good power and nice features, such as the L.E.D. light. I thought the light was a gimmick at first, but when it was late afternoon and I find myself inside a building with no lights, the light was great.

  14. Reply
    William Moon May 5, 2017 at 11:57 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    You will not be dissatisfied in any way with this drill…….a workhorse and excellent value and stands up to the Dewalts and Milwaukees

  15. Reply
    Frances Conrad May 10, 2017 at 3:20 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    I guess I had to replace that one, because it appeared that commutator section was burned out. Got replacement with no problems, but didn’t do any have duty jobs with replacement unit yet, so will see.

  16. Reply
    Irene Velasquez May 22, 2017 at 3:53 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    I was expecting a 3/4″ chuck not a 1/2 inch one. I was offered to return the drill. I like the drill and kept it. The only problem I had is that most of my drill bits are for a 3/4″ chuck and won’t fit a 1/2 ” chuck.

  17. Reply
    Bertha Carter May 25, 2017 at 10:21 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    Used Makita HP2050 3/4 Inch Hammer Drill to drill 1/2″ through holes in concrete blocks wall and same size in the wood. Only positive experience. Really liked the variable speed dial (the wheel on the trigger that limits the maximum speed). You can make it go literally on any speed.

  18. Reply
    Teddy Bird June 4, 2017 at 11:10 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    This is a nice drill. My only problem was with size of the chuck. That’s probably me not knowing how they size them.the ad said 3/4″ chuck and i thought you could put a 3/4″ drill bit instead of a 1/2″.

  19. Reply
    Tony Gilliam June 5, 2017 at 12:43 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    When a battery drill doesn’t make it, plug in. Solidly build and powerful, for the DIY or professional.

  20. Reply
    Sachiko Wyatt June 15, 2017 at 7:17 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    This drill, to put it plainly, is worthless. Well, maybe not worthless; it could be used for a door stop, paper weight, noise maker, or an excellent present for your competition or enemy.

  21. Reply
    Otto Fischer June 16, 2017 at 2:57 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    Not the same quality as previous Makita products I have owned which lasted for years on end. The first hard work job I had for this drill it burned up and I had to throw it away. So the drill is good for light work only.

  22. Reply
    Tammy Chan June 17, 2017 at 4:49 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    all rigth, heave duty

  23. Reply
    Lisa Langley June 21, 2017 at 5:35 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    Typical Makita product – works great and it’s bullet proof. I highly recommend this drill if you’re in the market for one.

  24. Reply
    Kumiko Contreras June 23, 2017 at 12:11 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    Way too big and powerful for casual home use, but it worked okay.

  25. Reply
    Hanna Arnold June 24, 2017 at 3:58 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    Drill works great. Chuck and key don’t match. Key is small for that chuck. A bit of a problem getting the chuck tight enough so bit doesn’t slip.

  26. Reply
    Nanaho Schultz June 25, 2017 at 12:50 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Nice drill. Does the job perfectly.

  27. Reply
    Vince Elliott June 25, 2017 at 8:51 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    quality stuff. No doubt value for money

  28. Reply
    Rebekah Wooten July 9, 2017 at 12:08 am
    Individual Rating
    80

    that’s awesome, the motor is very powerful, it moved my wrist by testing it for the first time, you need to use both hands in order to operate it for your safety, thanks a lot

  29. Reply
    Humberto Solis July 28, 2017 at 3:57 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    I bought this hammer action drill for my husband. He immediately used it to drill holes in a concrete floor to anchor a new air compressor. It worked great!

  30. Reply
    Kyle Spencer July 28, 2017 at 9:17 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Excellent quality. Made job a joy.

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Register New Account
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0