Milwaukee 5378-20 Reviews

19
Milwaukee 5378-20 – Drills

Milwaukee 5378-20 Reviews Contributed by Users

I’m a DIY guy who’s getting into my 60’s and have learned that it pays to buy good tools. In other words, you get what you pay for. That’s why I felt good when I bought this Milwaukee hammer drill. Milwaukee makes good stuff, right? Not.

6.5 Total Score
How Good?

I purchased this hammer-drill from Home Depot about three years ago for about $140. I used it sparely to hammer drill 5/8" diameter x 3" deep holes in concrete slab. During the past three years, I hammer drilled approximately 8 holes.

6Editor's score
General Score
6
7.2User's score
Individual Rating
7.2
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
30 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Ophelia Church January 11, 2017 at 3:09 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    i chose this drill originally for boring in concrete, which it does great. since then i have used it with 1″ auger bits into wood and had to hold on for dear life! this tool has power! I have also used it to stir dry wall compound. although i dont recommend this!

  2. Reply
    Hitomi Morales January 14, 2017 at 10:36 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    This drill is one serious piece of equipment in terms of power to weight ratio. Do not while drilling,under any circumstance, engage the trigger lock or it will beat you like a rented mule. The only real drawback for this and all Milwakee drills is the reversing switch.

  3. Reply
    Bonnie Rollins January 22, 2017 at 3:38 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    The Milwaukee 5378-20 works perfect for light applications and it does well in concrete. My first one burned up suddenly while drilling a 1/2 inch hole in wood with an auger bit, I guess it was some sort of manufacturing defect.

  4. Reply
    Juan Floyd January 27, 2017 at 5:19 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    I’m a DIY guy who’s getting into my 60’s and have learned that it pays to buy good tools. In other words, you get what you pay for. That’s why I felt good when I bought this Milwaukee hammer drill. Milwaukee makes good stuff, right? Not.

  5. Reply
    Bill Tucker January 28, 2017 at 10:51 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    This drill is big, not for people with small hands. Speed control is excellent, used it for driving wood screws and starting holes in metal. Plenty of power drilled through landscape timbers to drive 12″ spikes into the timbers. I have not used the hammer drill function yet.

  6. Reply
    Larry Kemp February 1, 2017 at 5:55 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    Whenever I pull this drill out at a job site, it feels like I’m unpacking a military weapon of some kind, that’s how solid, durable and menacing this drill feels. It is one tough tool. I can’t seem to burn it out, and I’ve drilled through just about everything with this thing.

  7. Reply
    Sam Lang February 14, 2017 at 11:10 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    I’ve used this drill infrequently since 2002, but it was excellent at boring holes in concrete, brick, etc. The transmission is very good and the speed and power excellent. My problem with the drill is that the commutator brushes are tiny for the power of the motor and when they are worn to nubs,…

  8. Reply
    Gabielle Mcconnell February 19, 2017 at 3:44 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    I haven’t used this drill to its fullest potential. So I can’t comment on it’s heavy duty extremes. It is strong and well built. Seems to be made of good quality.

  9. Reply
    Oscar Michael February 23, 2017 at 6:04 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    I read lots of reviews, but rarely write them. I am a part time remodeler. I have used this hammerdrill for 3 months. It has worked flawlessly for me. I have only used it so far to install tapcons in concrete slabs and in some precast concrete.

  10. Reply
    Bonnie Merrill March 1, 2017 at 10:27 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    I REALLY LOVE THIS DRILL ! I did a lot of research before choosing this one. I am a Do-it-yourselfer, so, I will not be using this commercially, but…. what I can say, this “baby” does the job well.

  11. Reply
    Barry Dickson March 10, 2017 at 9:22 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    This drill appears to be somewhat of a normal sized drill. Don’t let that fool you. This thing is a monster in disguise. Strong, powerful, and will not quit. I normally use a 14.4 cordless drill. When the drill catches in some material, I am able to release the trigger, with no harm done.

  12. Reply
    Dean Riggs March 16, 2017 at 11:45 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Absolutely great! Heavy & Solid, pricey? Maybe? But you get what you pay for. I used this thing all day to drill holes in brick/masonry. It never got tired. Hammertime! It didn’t crack or break the bricks or crumble the mortar.

  13. Reply
    Sally Pratt March 24, 2017 at 7:11 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    Nice balance, lots of power and solid construction throughout. I haven’t used the hammer as much as the drill. This and a cordless drill/driver are probably all the “average” DIY’er will ever really need.

  14. Reply
    Stan Little April 1, 2017 at 10:03 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    I have owned this drill for four years. Motor runs fine, plenty of power, the drill chuck which is critical on a hammer drill is junk. Made by ROHM. I will not buy anymore drills with a “Rohm” brand chuck.

  15. Reply
    Dean Melton April 7, 2017 at 2:35 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    I’ve had this drill for a number of years and always liked the balance and it’s good power for the size, but several issues always bothered me. The secondary grip doesn’t in place, the plastic depth rod is a joke, the reverse switch is easy to bump during gloved use, no case is provided and it is…

  16. Reply
    Kate Faulkner April 17, 2017 at 3:51 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    I’m a DIY guy who’s getting into my 60’s and have learned that it pays to buy good tools. In other words, you get what you pay for. That’s why I felt good when I bought this Milwaukee hammer drill. Milwaukee makes good stuff, right? Not.

  17. Reply
    Dean Wyatt April 29, 2017 at 6:27 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    This was easy to use, the product ripped right through the masonary/wood combination on the house and worked as expected.

  18. Reply
    Ophelia Cabrera May 1, 2017 at 6:03 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    I had to change the header on this as I’d own 6 or 7 drills if I could afford all of them. I took back the DW236 as it just didn’t have enough rpm’s for me. This tool on the other hand has what it take’s in my opinion. Two speeds, weight, and a good feel.

  19. Reply
    Harvey Mckee May 11, 2017 at 3:59 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    I needed to drill 1 1/4″ holes using an auger bit. My old 6.3A Black and Decker drill self-destructed on this job but the Milwaukee 5378-20 handled it with ease.

  20. Reply
    Bertha Cook May 20, 2017 at 1:20 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    Have used this drill for about 2 weeks, and love it. It drills through cement like butter (but it’s loud – wear ear protection). I used another hammer drill prior to purchasing this one, and highly recommend a KEYED chuck.

  21. Reply
    Miyuki Parker June 11, 2017 at 9:15 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    im not going to say too much but i am a contractor and i have used this drill several times now and found that it performed as well if not better than my makita hammer drill which was priced far beyond this one.

  22. Reply
    Olga Chaney June 19, 2017 at 12:08 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    I’ve had this drill for a few years and find the motor a bit weak, but adequate. The only real problem I’ve had is the handle that mounts on the gear case. The plastic gear case has three little indent to mate with indents in the plastic side handle.

  23. Reply
    Alberto Leon June 23, 2017 at 6:20 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    Bought this drill for around home projects… first one to anchor new ledger board to concrete foundation for our deck extension. Put 8- 1/2 inch 3inch deep holes in the foundation like a hot knife through butter. What a pleasure, the depth gage worked great too for depth uniformity.

  24. Reply
    Vicky Bird June 29, 2017 at 5:55 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    This is one of the best tools that I own. It is well-built, not too heavy, very versatile, powerful, and quiet. The hammer drill makes drilling in concrete and block very easy. I also used it with a 4 1/4 inch hole saw and it had no problem. The only thing I would change is to add a keyless chuck.

  25. Reply
    Barry Young July 4, 2017 at 6:32 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    My Milwaukee 5378-20 1/2″ Hammer Drill took a dump. It’s 14 years old – I expected a longer life, because I did not use it all that much. Some years barely any use. It would not allow me to go into reverse and it only had one speed – FULL. The controller switch is fried.

  26. Reply
    Ayumi Mullen July 4, 2017 at 7:21 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    I just built a home and as a professional electrician let me tell you this drill is the best. I used to have a Craftsman and that thing broke to pieces on its first time drilling 1/2” spade holes through 2 x 4 , this drill the Milwaukee broke the bit first then i used it to put in some concrete…

  27. Reply
    Iris Bates July 9, 2017 at 8:06 pm
    Individual Rating
    80

    I purchased this hammer-drill from Home Depot about three years ago for about $140. I used it sparely to hammer drill 5/8″ diameter x 3″ deep holes in concrete slab. During the past three years, I hammer drilled approximately 8 holes.

  28. Reply
    Chris Leblanc July 14, 2017 at 11:30 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    I have rented the massive hammer drills before and they are fast. This is not quite as fast but also has less of a chance of cracking the concrete near a window. It will do any concrete drilling that the average homeowner/handyman will ever need to do.

  29. Reply
    Rafael Beard July 21, 2017 at 9:54 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    4 1/2*. For the money this is a great drill. I am not a contractor, just a busy DIY’r who needed a 1/2 drill, which it is perfect for. It would probably make a very good second 1/2″ hammer drill for a contractor who had the even higher-end Milwaukee’s or a SDS Bosch for the hired help to set anchors…

  30. Reply
    Irene Keith August 1, 2017 at 7:15 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    Purchased this Model today locally and it did not dissapoint. It ate thru concrete block like I eat thru a Chinese buffet after a full days work. Strong, yet quieter than most, well balanced, and not as heavy as some.

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Register New Account
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0