Apple MacBook Pro 13

1869
Apple MacBook Pro 13
8 Total Score
  • More than 11 hours of battery life in our tests. Brilliant Retina display with higher-than-1080p resolution. Two Thunderbolt 2 ports. HDMI port. Comes with iLife and iWork software suites.

Apple MacBook Pro 13 Contributed by Users

While the upcoming 12-inch MacBook has all the buzz, this 13-inch system gets a handful of updates to remain a top choice for combining power and portability.

8 Total Score
How Good?

Although the fifth-generation Intel Core i5 processor and Force Touch trackpad are minor updates, this year's 13-inch Retina Apple MacBook Pro is still an easy top pick for high-end ultraportables.

9Editor's score
General Score
9
7.5User's score
Individual Rating
7.5
PROS
  • More than 11 hours of battery life in our tests. Brilliant Retina display with higher-than-1080p resolution. Two Thunderbolt 2 ports. HDMI port. Comes with iLife and iWork software suites.
CONS
  • Only upgradable at time of order. Base Flash Storage capacity is just 128GB. Glossy screen. Ethernet requires adapter. Force Touch trackpad takes a little getting used to, and is of limited use right now.
Add your review  |  Read reviews and comments
31 Comments
Show all Highest Rating Lowest Rating Add your review
  1. Reply
    Lili Hicks January 15, 2017 at 6:11 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    Apple makes a great computer ! I love my mac book its the best laptop I’ve owned . Its super rugged and the cost point is a little high to the average person but the quality is superior to others .

  2. Reply
    Teresa Palmer January 21, 2017 at 9:13 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    There’s certainly a lot to like about this MacBook and although it has a smaller screen, it still looks great thanks to the retina display technology. It comes with a 2.9GHz Intel i5 processor standard, which you can upgrade to a 3.1GHz i7 model for better performance, but both are dual-core CPUs.

  3. Reply
    Chantal Castro January 28, 2017 at 7:58 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Thank you for the great service been with you for more than 10 years and would highly recommend

  4. Reply
    Wanda Dotson February 7, 2017 at 10:34 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    Its performance won’t break any records, but the improved battery life provided by Intel’s new Broadwell processor is genuinely impressive.

    + PROS: Outstanding battery life, high-quality Retina display, attractive, lightweight design
    - CONS: Very limited upgradeability, no performance improvement over Haswell models
  5. Reply
    Lorenzo Carver February 24, 2017 at 8:57 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Great mac book…decent price

  6. Reply
    Florence Heath February 28, 2017 at 3:55 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    I bought this mac few weeks ago. It s brilliant such us any apple product!

  7. Reply
    Michelle Melton March 9, 2017 at 6:06 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    this is our 2nd purchase of the same model for our family uselike this model’s features better than many of the newer late 2016 modela magsafe power cord included (not used in the 2016) as well as usb ports

    + PROS: love this lap top! better features than the 2016
  8. Reply
    Vicky Pennington March 10, 2017 at 1:13 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Its a great device, I just wish i made the change years ago

    + PROS: Comfortable Keyboard, Fast, Lightweight, Long Battery Life, Powerful, Quality Display, Quiet
    - CONS: None
  9. Reply
    Tanya Copeland March 16, 2017 at 10:19 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    Coming from years on PC decided to make the change. I switched to the iPhone and also got an iPad..the 12.9 pro to be exact and then decided to make the change to the Mac Pro. I have always used HP and would have issues. I did not like windows 10 and was having lag issues and freezing up on me.

    + PROS: everything
    - CONS: nothing yet
  10. Reply
    Dennis Harrell March 23, 2017 at 5:29 pm
    Individual Rating
    70

    Still, let it be said: We’re jealous of anyone who buys either of the Retina-equipped MacBook Pro models. These prime MacBooks simply exude quality, craftsmanship, and concern for the user, from the bundled software to the feel of the lid latch and hinges.

    + PROS: Stunning super-high-res screen, First-class construction and software experience, Great battery life
    - CONS: Expensive, especially compared to 15-inch Retina MacBook Pro, Integrated graphics
  11. Reply
    Barry Pena March 25, 2017 at 12:28 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Apple Mac is easy to set up and worth to buy it

  12. Reply
    Lisa Crosby April 5, 2017 at 5:07 am
    Individual Rating
    80

    I use this MacBook for normal personal business and entertainment. Not a gamer or photo-processor, although I’m quite sure this could handle any intermediate level tasks in those as well as many other areas. Had an early MacBook that lasted eight-plus years; I think that’s pretty impressive.

  13. Reply
    Valerie House April 24, 2017 at 7:18 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    While the upcoming 12-inch MacBook has all the buzz, this 13-inch system gets a handful of updates to remain a top choice for combining power and portability.

    + PROS: Apple adds new Intel CPUs, faster memory, longer battery life and its new Force Touch trackpad to the standard 13-inch MacBook Pro, which keeps its generous selection of ports.
    - CONS: The 2015 updates make only a minor difference to the hands-on experience, while similar high-end 13-inch laptops continue to get thinner and lighter.
  14. Reply
    Debby Stafford April 27, 2017 at 10:18 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    The refreshed MacBook Pro 13 with Retina is in many ways the same system we saw in 2012. It looks the same, weighs (almost) the same, and has the same display. Yet it feels different. Back in 2012, the Pro 13 was one of the most portable systems around, competing neck-and-neck with ultrabooks.

    + PROS: Robust connectivity, Force Touch feels great, Top-notch display, Long battery life, Quicker than competitors
    - CONS: A bit heavy by modern standards, Retina resolution no longer class-leading, Runs hot under load
  15. Reply
    Nicholas Strong April 30, 2017 at 12:11 am
    Individual Rating
    70

    Microcenter is my choice for Apple products. They have great deals. This laptop is the best quot;classicquot; MacBook Pro. It has really long battery life and the screen is fantastic. If taken care of, These laptops will easily last 5+ years. I just wiped my old one and passed it on.

  16. Reply
    Sally Mueller May 7, 2017 at 12:59 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    This is a fantastic upgrade from the 15quot; 2012 MacBook Pro I’d been using – snappier and much lighter. Though it’s not as light as – nor does have the newest CPU, faster graphics and memory, or faster Thunderbolt ports – of the latest models, it still has native USB ports, uses the Magsafe power,…

  17. Reply
    Isaac Nunez May 18, 2017 at 5:45 am
    Individual Rating
    80

    I bought this MacBook Pro retina about 2 weeks ago and I love it! its ideal for what I need it for! very quick and powerful macbook

  18. Reply
    Gabielle Allen May 20, 2017 at 5:57 am
    Individual Rating
    80

    Although the fifth-generation Intel Core i5 processor and Force Touch trackpad are minor updates, this year’s 13-inch Retina Apple MacBook Pro is still an easy top pick for high-end ultraportables.

    + PROS: More than 11 hours of battery life in our tests. Brilliant Retina display with higher-than-1080p resolution. Two Thunderbolt 2 ports. HDMI port. Comes with iLife and iWork software suites.
    - CONS: Only upgradable at time of order. Base Flash Storage capacity is just 128GB. Glossy screen. Ethernet requires adapter. Force Touch trackpad takes a little getting used to, and is of limited use right now.
  19. Reply
    Gert Mcknight May 24, 2017 at 6:21 am
    Individual Rating
    100

    Got it for the kids, as that is what high school kids are comfortable with. So far so good.

  20. Reply
    Miyuki Houston June 1, 2017 at 9:58 pm
    Individual Rating
    90

    Apple’s workhorse in the form of a compact 13-inch goes into the next round. An overview of the most important modifications: New Force Touch touchpad, update to Intel’s Broadwell CPU including an Iris Graphics 6100, faster PCIe-based SSD, and a larger battery.

  21. Reply
    Miyako Madden June 8, 2017 at 4:41 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    I upgraded from a Dell and I am super impressed. Perfect for any student, don’t worry about not having enough space on the lowest storage or RAM. It still works amazingly fast even with all my files loaded onto it.

  22. Reply
    Arthur Lewis June 27, 2017 at 4:32 pm
    Individual Rating
    50

    Build quality is excellent. Easy to set up. Quick and very responsive to commands. Keys have a rubbery feel to them, with minimal pressure and distance to press keys for a response.

  23. Reply
    Van Vazquez July 8, 2017 at 6:35 am
    Individual Rating
    60

    I was thoroughly impressed by the MacBook. As a long standing Windows User and IT Professional it has made my entire work-life and business-life easier straight out of the box. While I am fine with using any system for work there is nothing like the MacBook Pro to help me excel at any task I find…

  24. Reply
    Arlene Oneill July 15, 2017 at 4:42 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    Who needs a touch screen, anyway? Apple’s new Force Touch trackpad has the potential for users to perform a much greater number of tasks than traditional touchpads, and gives Apple something to point to when its detractors complain about the lack of touch screens on its notebooks.

  25. Reply
    William Frazier July 23, 2017 at 3:00 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Yes, you’re spending about £1,000 on a laptop, of a little more. BUT. This laptop comes with everything built in, security, word, PowerPoint, excel, etc… yes it is all Apple, but it works a treat.

    I was always held back with Apple, thinking it wasn’t “worth the money” but it really is.

    GET IT.

  26. Reply
    Bonnie Stein July 23, 2017 at 10:01 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    Light, powerful, and with excellent battery life.

  27. Reply
    Vicky Roach August 4, 2017 at 4:49 pm
    Individual Rating
    60

    Compared to the 13″ early 2011 MBP this replaced, I’m very happy with a lot of small things, such as, far superior speakers, trackpad that should last longer because of non-mechanical clicking, even the often maligned magsafe connector because the old style with the plug on the side of the cable was…

  28. Reply
    Joyce Robbins August 10, 2017 at 11:50 am
    Individual Rating
    50

    The item has been more than pleasing, I would definitely recommend. Apple always seem to over exceed expectations.

  29. Reply
    Teddy Anderson August 14, 2017 at 4:07 pm
    Individual Rating
    100

    Excellent and very friendly services compering with other outlets.

  30. Reply
    Vicky Battle August 19, 2017 at 3:51 am
    Individual Rating
    90

    An innovative new Force Touch trackpad is probably the most interesting new feature of the early 2015 MacBook Pro Retina 13 – otherwise, there are more evolutionary than revolutionary changes. Even though the overall package is once again convincing: The Windows competition can close the gap.

    + PROS: Great unibody chassis, Innovative trackpad, Extremely fast WLAN-connectivity, Excellent IPS display, High application performance, Long battery runtimes
    - CONS: High starting price and expensive upgrades, Short warranty period, Can hardly be maintained, Glossy screen surface
  31. […] the thin profile and silver shell, it looks suspiciously like the MacBook. Is it a coincidence, I wonder? The posh design is cool and all, but let’s discuss the […]

    Leave a reply

    Your total score

    Register New Account
    Reset Password
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0